Bet you didn’t know! – 5 celebrities with depression

Depression affects over 1 million Australians, but there are many people you may look up to that also have depression.

Here are 5 celebrities that suffer or have suffered from depression.

1. Nicki Minaj

Nicki Minaj.jpg

Nicki Minaj opened up in a 2011 Cosmopolitan article about experiencing depression when she first started out as a performer, dealing with constant rejection and disappointment in the early stages of her career.

“It was just one dead end after another. At one point, I was, like, ‘What would happen if I just didn’t wake up? That’s how I felt. Like, ‘Maybe I should just take my life?”

2. Ellen DeGeneres

Ellen DeGeneres.jpg

Ellen DeGeneres went into a deep depression after her ABC show was cancelled.

“Everything that I ever feared happened to me”

3. Kanye West

kanye-west

Kanye West experienced a deep depression after the passing of his mother in 2007.

“I will not give up on life again. There’s so many people that will never get the chance to have their voice heard… I do it for them,”

4. Brad Pitt

Brad Pitt.jpg

After filming Fight Club he became “sick of himself.”

“I used to deal with depression, but I don’t now, not this decade – maybe last decade.”

5. Russel Brand

rusell-brand

Russel Brand has suffers from depression.

“I’ve never had a sustained period of medication for mental illness when I’ve not been on other drugs as well. It’s just not something that I particularly feel I need. I know that I have dramatically changing moods, and I know sometimes I feel really depressed, but I think that’s just life. I don’t think of it as, “Ah, this is mental illness,” more as, “Today, life makes me feel very sad.” I know I also get unnaturally high levels of energy and quickness of thought, but I’m able to utilize that.”

Image sources

http://media.timeout.com/images/101837539/image.jpg

http://presscentre.itvastatic.com/presscentre/sites/sites/presscentre/files/the_ellen_degeneres_show_itv2.jpg

static.celebuzz.com/uploads/2015/07/kanye-west-smile-instagram-07062015.jpg

www.hdfinewallpapers.com/HDWallpapers/Big/Brad-Pitt/Best_HD_Wallpaper_of_Brad_Pitt_with_Cute_Smile.jpg

the studioexec.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/547e59f63e343.jpg 


Leave a comment